World Press Photo Contests

World Press Photo Contests

Deadline: January 13, 2021
Entry Fee: Free
Prizes: €5,000, participation in the exhibition

Our annual contests recognize and celebrate the best visual journalism produced over the last year. An independent jury selects the prize-winning photographs and productions.

This year presents a first for the World Press Photo Foundation. Every year we look forward to welcoming industry professionals from all over the world to Amsterdam to judge the best of visual storytelling. Due to the uncertainty of the COVID-19 pandemic, judging will take place online and jury chairs will be joined digitally by a team of experts from around the world to decide on the best visual storytelling of 2020.

The 2021 Digital Storytelling Contest and 2021 Photo Contest are open for entries until 12 January 2021 12.00 (noon) CET. Entering the contests is free and open to all professional visual journalists around the world.

Since 1955, the World Press Photo Contest rewards photographers for the best single exposure pictures contributing to the past year of visual journalism. Whether entered as singles or stories, these pictures are judged in terms of their accurate, fair, and visually compelling insights about our world.


  • Contemporary Issues
    Single pictures or stories documenting cultural, political or social issues affecting individuals or societies.
  • Environment
    Single pictures or stories documenting human impact, positive or negative, on the environment.
  • General News
    Single pictures or stories reporting on news topics and their aftermaths.
  • Long­-Term Projects
    A project on a single theme that has been shot over at least three different years.
  • Nature
    Single pictures or stories showing flora, fauna and landscapes in their natural state.
  • Portraits
    Single pictures or stories of individuals or groups either in observed or posed portraits.
  • Sports
    Single pictures, stories or portfolios that capture individual or team sports.
  • Spot News
    Single pictures or stories witnessing news moments or immediate events.


The winners of the World Press Photo of the Year and the World Press Photo Story of the Year awards receive €5,000 each.

All winning photographers will be invited to a small online festival including the winners announcement, presentations, lectures and networking opportunities for the winners to connect to a selected group of jurors, editors and industry professionals.

The prize-winning photographs are assembled into a worldwide year-long exhibition.

The winning pictures are also published on World Press Photo’s website, across our social media platforms, and in our annual yearbook, which is available in multiple languages.


  • Entries open: 1 December 2020, 12.00 noon CET
  • Entries close: 13 January 2021, 12.00 noon CET
  • Nominees announced: 10 March 2021
  • Winners announced: 15 April 2021


Rate article
Pixcontests – Photo Contests of the World